Classic Christie Covers.

After a visit to Waterstones I was thinking how boring book covers had become. I understand that the publishing industry is trying to find ways to keep down the cost of books, but I’m struck by the lack of imagination. It’s highlighted by the change in Agatha Christie’s books. Here is a modern cover and it’s the kindles edition so colour choices can’t be blamed on the price of ink:

So most of the Agatha Christie books I have read, I borrowed off my Dad, are pretty old and I believe the term is ‘well loved’. I think the covers are great and I can’t understand why such little thought goes in to reprints today. Why bother changing them at all? Over the next few days I’ll be posting some classic Christie covers, first up is ‘The Mysterious Affair at Styles’.

The Mysterious Affair at Styles.

1969 Pan Books edition

Sad Cypress cover

1971 Fontana Books Edition: Sad Cypress

Destination Unknown book cover

1971 Fonatana Books edition: Destination Unknown.

This entry was posted in Agatha Christie, All things cosy, Books, cosy mystery, reading, vintage pics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

