September Sleuthing.

I’ve got the list of new releases from Berkley/Obsidian and I can’t say I’m that impressed. For some odd reason they seem to have gone down a ooooh what’s the word? You know for things that are spooky and ghostly. I’ve had one chocolate muffin too many because I just can’t think of the word. Anyway, I’m not interested in the olde worlde, or other world new releases. What does interest me is the release of a new book with the ever popular Jessica Fletcher.

Book Cover

Now how many of these books have there been now? Such is the endurance of the JB Fletcher character and the love for Angela Lansbury that the public’s need for the series to continue is unabated. I felt the series didn’t get off to a great start, with Donald Bain making some basic errors that annoyed fans of Murder She Wrote. For example he renamed Sheriff Metzger’s wife Adele, calling her Maureen, when fans complained, The publisher should have caught the mistake, on realising the mistake they should have simply corrected the mistake in subsequent printings. Instead of this Bain wrote in a paragraph stating that Mort had divorced Adele  This further irritated fans because divorce of the Metzgers was entirely out of character and rocked our cosy world. I’ll be honest, I still haven’t forgiven Bain.

Am I the only person to notice that Jessica hasn’t aged? She still appears to be in the 1980s from the look of the cover. I guess it’s like the Simpsons, why age a character when you don’t need to. Although Angela Lansbury looks fantastic, I saw her on Broadway in ‘Blythe Spirit’ and she is in great shape. I just love the hair colour she’s working as well. Here she is outside of the theatre, she wasn’t tired at all and happy to talk with people. She autographed my playbill for me earlier in the day. Such a nice person.

This entry was posted in All things cosy, Books, murder she wrote, signet-berkely-obsidian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September Sleuthing.

  1. Traci says:

    Sorry that is taken me a while to respond to your blog. How are these books? Are they anything like the tv series?

Leave a Reply

