Tell Me How You Live

I read this a while ago and I’ve been meaning to tell you about it. This is an Agatha Christie book like no other, it’s Agatha’s account of going on an archaeological dig with her husband Max. Having read her autobiography I expected this to be a rather dry account of a dig but it’s not at all. In fact it was a wonderful surprise to find a rather charming Agatha chatting with me. The book opens with Agatha trying to purchase a suitable sun hat in an English winter. It’s very funny.

Agatha’s (we’re on first name terms after this book) narrative voice really comes through and in places, she is hilarious. I wouldn’t have guessed from the thrillers, that she had such a wonderful sense of humour. Anglophiles will also love the book as it is terribly British, it’s also nice to hear about her dogs. The only downside is the way other animals are treated, it’s all covered on one page and whilst Agatha was clearly a dog lover including some nice doggie anecdote in here, the rest of the animal kingdom doesn’t fare so well. I won’t dwell on it, but if, like me, you have a sensitive nature, you may wish to skim over one page. You’ll spot it immediately and just move on to the next page. That said, I’d like to show you a cute pic from the book. I just love donkeys, and look at this chap here, he is their water carrier and he clearly didn’t mind posing for the camera!

Cute Donkey!

A donkey super-model if ever I saw one...

This really is a lovely book that really helps us get to know Agatha Christie and I think you’d enjoy it, even those who aren’t a Christie fan.

This entry was posted in Agatha Christie, All things cosy, Books, cosy mystery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tell Me How You Live

  1. Traci says:

    Awww the donkey is cute! I am sensitive too and I would not be able to read those parts either

Leave a Reply

