Fluke Back on Form!

Book Cover

Well I’m very behind with my reviews. I can’t even remember which books I’ve told you about, I’ll have to go back over my old posts. I know I haven’t told you about ‘Devil’s Food Cake Murder’, it’s the latest Joanne Fluke and I bought it from Barnes and Noble when I was on holiday. I’m not going to post the full synopsis from the book as it is very long.

I have to be honest, the last Hannah Swenson title was so disappointing that I thought the series had jumped the shark. I like visiting Lake Eden and all its residents so I stuck with the series and I’m glad I did. The murder mystery element is very strong in this installment. Claire and Reverend Knudson go off on honeymoon and Bob’s childhood friend Matthew – also a minister – comes to temporarily take his place. Minister Matthew is soon found dead face down in a piece of Devils Food Cake. The story is very readable and the cluing is good fun, it’s more like one of Fluke’s earlier books which could be read just for the mystery. So the good news is, if you haven’t read any/all of the series, you can jump right in with this one and have a go at working out whodunnit.

There are 36 recipes in the book including ‘Good Kitty Cake’ for cats, which I thought was a super cute idea. In fact, I may scan it for you so cat lovers don’t feel left out when I post the monthly dog recipe.

I do have a bone to pick, Fluke is still refusing to resolve the love triangle, just as I thought we might be getting towards a decision, Fluke pulled the rug out from under my feet. I’m not going to spoil the story for you, but I feel I must mention that JF’s way of keeping the love triangle going beggars belief. It’s one of those ‘what on Earth is the author doing?’ moments, where the imaginary world comes crashing down. It’s such a shame. Fluke should have the belief in her writing to let this issue go. I’m staggered that the book editor hasn’t pointed out this folly. The series cannot take any more silliness, characters have to grow to be believable, but more importantly with a series like this, they have to grow to stay interesting. Lake Eden will be losing fans and that’s a shame.

That said, I can recommend this title, even to those who have never read a Hannah Swenson mystery.

This entry was posted in Books, cosy mystery, Joanne Fluke and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fluke Back on Form!

  1. Traci says:

    Sounds like a great read I cannot wait to read it. I am still behind on her books though. We were at the library the other day and I stopped at the little book store and I found the Apple Turnover Murder for only 50 cents. Great deal!

    • cosybookworm says:

      50 cents! That’s great. The Apple Turnover mystery is a good one as well. Let me know how you find it. The good thing about Devil’s food cake is that you can read it without reading the others, so if your library gets it maybe you could check it out.

Leave a Reply

