Crooked House

Crooked HouseWhile I was ill I read ‘Crooked House’ by Agatha Christie and I really do think it is one of her best. The synopsis is:A wealthy Greek businessman is found dead at his London home…The Leonides were one big happy family living in a sprawling, ramshackle mansion. That was until the head of the household, Aristide, was murdered with a fatal barbiturate injection. Suspicion naturally falls on the old man’s young widow, fifty years his junior. But the murderer has reckoned without the tenacity of Charles Hayward, fiance of the late millionare’s granddaughter…

This is written with such skill it really took my breath away, I didn’t have high hopes for it as it isn’t a Marple or Poirot, but one of the stand alone Agatha Christie novels with all new characters. The primary investigator is Charles Hayward who happens to be both the fiance of Sophia Leonides (a suspect in her Grandfather’s murder) and conveniently the son the Assistant Commissioner of Scotland Yard. The plot races along and there is a great cast of characters all of whom are believably suspicious. By the end of the novel I had no idea whodunnit and the end really surprised me. This time there were no silly tricks or sleight of hand, when the killer was revealed I suddenly remembered all the clues that Christie had so meticulously placed throughout the book. Incredibly original with extraordinary plotting. Published in 1949 it holds up well, Agatha Christie herself believed it to be one of her best and whilst I haven’t read everything she’s written, I have to agree with her based on my knowledge so far. I have never seen a TV production of this book and I think that helped make it more exciting, if you’ve never read an Agatha Christie I’m thinking this would be a good one to start with.

This entry was posted in Agatha Christie, Books, cosy mystery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crooked House

  1. Traci says:

    Very cool! I think I will start reading her books.

Leave a Reply

