Deadly Decisions

CoverSynopsis:

A nine-year-old girl is shot dead, caught in crossfire on her way to ballet class. A teenager killed in North Carolina is found hundreds of miles away.

Forensic anthropologist Dr Temperance Brennan has to pick up the pieces: she knows she shouldn’t let emotion get in the way, but when nine-year-old Emily’s body is wheeled into the morgue she cannot help but react.
An exhumation uncovers the bones of another innocent in a clandestine grave close to a biker gang headquarters. With her boss in hospital and sparring partner Detective Andrew Ryan mysteriously unavailable, Tempe alone begins a perilous investigation in to the lawless underworld of organised crime….

My Humble Opinion.

Well from what I remember (being ill and all that) I did enjoy this one. A bit of a gruesome opening, some of the content is hard to read as it is a bit upsetting. That said it is an interesting whodunnit. I particularly like the consistently written Temperance Brennan character, both believable and likeable it’s nice to have such a strong female protagonist. I also find Tempe’s problems with Claudel (don’t we all have someone at work who doesn’t like us?), blossoming relationship with Ryan and personal flaws do not detract from the thriller and serve to flesh out the characters’ world. That said, I did feel that this book suffered slightly from Reichs desire to share her research. There is an awful lot of confusing info about biker gangs that I feel the book could have done without, every now and then I found myself not only completely confused over which gang was which but I really didn’t care. In addition I found myself starting to skim some of the over long descriptions about bloodspatter. There was also a little too much coincidence in the plot, I understand that the ‘family member at risk’ element worked well before it did seem a little incredible to have it happen again.

I feel bad that I’ve pointed out the things I disliked when there was such a lot I liked. The books are so exciting I am enjoying them and I’ll be continuing with the series. In fact I need to post my opinion on ‘Fatal Voyage’ which I feel is one of the best yet. It’s probably not going to happen in the next week though – it’s Christmas Eve tomorrow. Yippee.

This entry was posted in Books, Kathy Reichs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

