Frances Hodgson Burnett

Well after reading ‘The Invisible Womble’ I moved on to another children’s story ‘Little Lord Fauntelroy’. This time though I was reading it on my DS with the ‘101 classic book collection’. I haven’t read an e-book or the suchlike before but it was pretty handy. The battery had gone in my little book light and it’s a way to read in the dark.

I’m actually reconsidering my stance on getting an e-reader, I’m thinking it would be good for the house as well as it’s bursting at the seams with books. Also with an e reader I wouldn’t have a great big teetering stack of books on my bedside table.

Back to Little Lord Fauntelroy – The story is about an American boy who becomes the heir to an estate and title in England when his Uncles die unexpectedly. I really enjoyed the story and Burnett had such an economy of style, why use 20 words when 3 will do? Fantastic stuff, her characters are really fun as well. I think old classics are nice to read but sometimes it’s easy to get bogged down with the language – ‘old English’ can be a bit of a drag sometimes, but with children’s books there isn’t such a problem as they are written to be accessible, they make a nice window into a different time. I’m going to read the ‘Secret Garden’, this is also on the ‘101’ collection and is by Burnett, I really enjoyed her prose. I’ll let you know how I get on.

This entry was posted in Books, reading, reading accessories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frances Hodgson Burnett

  1. Traci says:

    I have always been intrigued by Ereaders. I’ve never really considered getting one before because I didnt know whether the motion of the pages would make me sick. I could never read in a moving car because I would get nauseated.
    The DS classic book sounds great! I have never heard of ebooks for the DS.

    • cosybookworm says:

      The DS is pretty easy to read. I don’t get sick reading it, I know what you mean about the ereaders though. I worry about losing one! I’ll give you more details on the 101 classics in a later post so you know which books are included.

  2. Traci says:

    It really does sound great! Is it really small to read on the DS?

Leave a Reply

