Chocolate Aside

Chocolate MarzipanI recently bought a box of chocolates from Thorntons, which was a snip at £5. It’s a new Christmas box and I just loved the almond marzipan. It was all soft and covered in dark chocolate, so I took myself off to the shop and treated myself to a little bag of the marzipans (all their chocs are sold separately in bags). That evening I settled in front of a DVD and opened the bag only to find they are totally different! Not only is the marzipan firm with a grainy texture but a good 50% of the bag’s weight is taken up by whole almonds (which in my opinion is practically a health food and has no place in a bag of chocs) plonked on top of every choc! Rip off. I’ve half a mind to moan at Thorntons about it, chocolate is a serious business and a customer should know what to expect. I guess in future I’ll just have to stick to the big selection box with the soft marzipan, oh how I suffer….. 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Chocolate and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Aside

  1. Traci says:

    That must have been quite a disappointment. Unfortunately that happens here too! I definately love almonds, especially in trail mix.

    • cosybookworm says:

      I like almonds too, I love using them in place of flour and I like frangipane as well, I just didn’t want them in my bag of chocolates, I guess I’m just a big fat chocoholic!! Do you get Thorntons in the states? They are really tasty.

  2. Traci says:

    They are yummy! I have never heard of using them in place of flour. How does that work? I’m not sure if we have Thortons over here. They do look tasty!

Leave a Reply

