Delicious Dahl

Book Cover

I intended to try to convert a cookie recipe from a Joanne Fluke book to gluten-free today but I got waylaid by my lovely shiny new copy of ‘Miss Dahl’s Voluptuous Delights’. I have already cooked 3 of Sophie’s recipes and they are truly delicious. A big hit with the family. For lunch today I made the Chicken and chickpea soup and as a side dish I made spiced sweet potato cakes. Most of the recipes are gluten-free, a left over from a bout of bad health Sophie suffered, she still avoids wheat so it was quite a treat cooking from a ‘regular’ book without having to work out substitutions and experiment with amounts. I also like the food stories Sophie tells, so I might look for her novels in the library (she’s written 2), in addition she has a book due out in February so I’m quite excited about that. Here’s Sophie making flapjacks on her show ‘The Delicious Miss Dahl’:

If you go to the BBC website you can see more of her recipes including one for shepherd’s pie. I made the meat and vegetarian version at the same time (my husband eats meat, I don’t) and it was fantastic. The only issue I have is that shepherd’s pie is made with lamb – shepherds look after sheep. As she’s making it with beef it should be called a cottage pie. No matter, it’s a great recipe with an easy substitution for vegetarians, I can’t imagine why somebody hasn’t thought of a recipe like that before. Genius.

This entry was posted in Books, cooking, Gluten Free, Joanne Fluke and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Delicious Dahl

  1. Traci says:

    Does this have a story as well as receipes in it? Is it similar to Joanne Fluke?

    • cosybookworm says:

      No, this book by Sophie is a cook book. It’s split into seasons and before the recipes she has written a bit about her life, it’s quite interesting. All factual though, no fiction.

  2. Traci says:

    It still sounds really interesting.

  3. cosybookworm says:

    It is, she has lived in India and New York (as well as England) her Gran is the Hollywood actress Patricia Neal and Roald Dahl is her Granddad so it’s pretty fascinating, Sophie was famous as a ‘larger’ model in the 90s, appeared in a Bollywood film and talks about her love of food. It’s really funny in places.

  4. Traci says:

    Very cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

